Stoke the Campfire

Just in Time for Halloween

Stoke the campfire and get ready for some chills and goosebumps when you open this paranormal addition to the award-winning Bethlehem Writers Group’s “Sweet, Funny, and Strange” anthologies.


Among our twenty-seven stories, we bring you Jeff Baird’s “Bailey’s Mountain” which shows a romp with man’s best friend through Mother Nature morph into a visit to the supernatural. Dianna Sinovic’s “Point of View” describes a mysterious shifting painting and its sinister effects on its new owner. Jodi Bogert brings us “Old Man Omar,” and shows us that sometimes those we consider crazy might just know some things we don’t. In DT Krippene’s “Hell of a Deal,” a man buys a house for a price that’s too good to be true–until he discovers the bizarre strings attached. Kidd Wadsworth’s “The Beast” brings a ghost story to life–but can her characters escape with theirs?


In addition, we have new stories of the unexplained from favorite authors Courtney Annicchiarico, Walter Bego, A. E. Decker, Marianne H. Donley, Headley Hauser, Ralph Hieb, Jerome W. McFadden, Stanley W. McFarland, Emily P. W. Murphy, Christopher D. Ochs, Paul Weidknecht, and Carol L. Wright. Also included are the winning stories from the 2017 and 2018 Bethlehem Writers Roundtable Short Story Award by Suzanne Purvis and Christine Eskilson respectively.


So sit back to enjoy a drift through the paranormal–but don’t let the fire go out!

Untethered: Sweet, Funny, and Strange Tales of the Paranormal
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Amazon

Posts from A Slice of Orange

  • Contest Deadline Approaching
    by marianne h donley on April 27, 2020 at 5:01 am

    Book Buyers Best Contest Open to works of romantic fiction published in 2019. Deadline for receiving manuscripts is April 30, 2020 Hello published writers! We wanted to let you know that OCC/RWA is running our annual Book Buyers Best Contest for any author who has published a work of fiction any time during 2019 (traditional The post Contest Deadline Approaching appeared first on A Slice of Orange.

  • A Review of In Twilight’s Hush, A Thriller by Laurie Stevens
    by marianne h donley on April 24, 2020 at 5:01 am

    In Twilight’s Hush A Gabriel McRay Novel Book 4by Laurie Stevens Price: paperback $14.99 e-book: $6.99Available widePublisher FYD Media, LLC April 2020ASIN B086DCY5RQISBN 978-0997006827 As a Homicide Detective for LA County Sheriff’s Department, Gabriel McRay has been assigned cold cases to investigate while he recovers from being kidnapped and held captive by a ruthless serial The post A Review of In Twilight’s Hush, A Thriller by Laurie Stevens appeared first on A Slice of Orange.

  • Featuring Meriam Wilhelm
    by marianne h donley on March 29, 2020 at 5:01 am

    Featuring Meriam Wilhelm Author of the Month The one thing I know, after all my years as an elementary school principal, is that there is magic everywhere and in everyone. While I miss those enchanting moments with kids, I have always wanted to let my imagination run wild as I seek out my own magic and write about The post Featuring Meriam Wilhelm appeared first on A Slice of Orange.

  • Featuring Meriam Wilhelm Author of the Month
    by marianne h donley on March 21, 2020 at 5:01 am

    Featuring Meriam Wilhelm Author of the Month The one thing I know, after all my years as an elementary school principal, is that there is magic everywhere and in everyone. While I miss those enchanting moments with kids, I have always wanted to let my imagination run wild as I seek out my own magic and write about The post Featuring Meriam Wilhelm Author of the Month appeared first on A Slice of Orange.

  • March Releases
    by marianne h donley on March 17, 2020 at 6:01 am

    Two new releases for March First up is Jina Bacarr’s The Runaway Girl Two women hold the keys to his heart. Only one will survive that fateful night… A sweeping, emotional historical romance set aboard the Titanic, perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Suzanne Goldring. This is a revised and fully updated edition of The post March Releases appeared first on A Slice of Orange.

Fall Foliage

We were in PA a few weeks ago for birthdays and a few book-signings. I brought my camera just in case we spotted some cool leaf colors. Sure enough, the trees in Cedar Beach Park put on a fine display, despite the eighty-degree weather. Just pretend you’re wearing a sweater when you look at them.

tree-4 tree-2

Once Upon a Time

 ouatStep through our castle doors into a world of imagination!

At long last, the Bethlehem Writers Group, known for its award-winning anthologies, has published a book especially for children. ONCE UPON A TIME is a collection of twenty-one sweet, funny, and yes, strange stories for kids from preschool through middle school.

This anthology is designed to grow with your child. First, stories such as “GG and Teddy and the Dream Willow” by Will Wright, “The Princess of Booray” by Emily P. W. Murphy, and “A Nutty Adventure” by Judith Mehl, will enchant those who enjoy being read to while sitting on a grown-up’s lap. Others, including “A Harmonious Secret” by Josie Myers, “Bird Boy” by Russell Uhler, and “Bring-Your-Monster-to-School Day” by Kidd Wadsworth, allow young readers to immerse themselves in the fantasy and adventure of reading on their own. Finally, for older kids, such stories as “Book Worm” by Christopher D. Ochs and “Coot” by Anne Hamilton complete the collection with the tween or early teen in mind.

Enjoy these and other entertaining stories from our award-winning authors including: Jeff Baird, Marianne H. Donley, Ralph Hieb, Diane Sismour, Paul Weidknecht, and Carol L. Wright. In addition, we are happy to present “Stick to the Bypathings,” an imaginative fantasy from Eleanor Ingbretson, the winner of the 2016 Bethlehem Writers Round- table Short Story Award. And charming illustrations from Agy Wilson enhance each story.

All together, this collection will captivate and delight children of all ages–even if they’re grownups!

“Once Upon a Time is a readable treat . . . the perfect book to snuggle up with before bedtime or share over milk and cookies. . . . [S]ure to delight both youngsters and the young at heart.” A. E. Decker, author of Moonfall Mayhem, the highly praised young adult fantasy series.

Purchasing information